Sleepless in Eugene

20131124-193132.jpg

When my friend Nicole and I dragged our groggy selves out in the pre-dawn cold to drive to Eugene today, we decided our feat of waking up on time for the trip was accomplishment enough. The fact that we also had to run in a 10K once we got to Tracktown USA was basically an afterthought. So imagine our surprise when we both snagged PRs at the EWEB Run to Stay Warm. I love when my legs surprise me.

The small race was exactly what I needed to regain some running confidence after my injury setback from last month. I’ve only ever run a few 10Ks (two on trails and one on a muggy D.C. day), so I guess a PR shouldn’t have been so surprising. It’s just nice to know that my lame foot can handle a little speed again. My unofficial finish time was 52:45, for an 8:30/mile pace.

Extra perk: Epic piles of cream cheese on the post-race munchies table.

20131124-193246.jpg

Meanwhile, across the country, my boyfriend just pushed through his fifth finish at the JFK 50-Mile race. Yay, Dave!

20131124-194701.jpg

Tags: , , ,

About District Sweats

After a year of running in Portland, Ore., I'm back to my roots in Washington, D.C. Follow me here on the blog and on Instagram and Twitter. Got questions or sweat recommendations in D.C.? Hit me up: districtsweats@gmail.com.

4 responses to “Sleepless in Eugene”

  1. Joey says :

    Congrats to you both! How did your boyfriend do? It’s a super competitive race that I hope to do in the future

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 84 other followers

