Be there with bells on

Hey, it’s a holiday post!

Don’t worry, no workout streaks or no-sweets strategies here. That’s all well and good, but I’d rather enjoy my cookies and mulled wine and just, ya know, run a little more. Holiday-themed runs? Even better.

I kicked off the season with Portland Running Company’s Thursday night group run to check out the towering Christmas tree in Portland’s Pioneer Square. The tree is a 75-foot Douglas fir with 60,000 lights. Here’s, well, the bottom of it:

Photo by PRC.

Photo by PRC.

Next up, the Foot Traffic Holiday Half & 5K on the Adidas campus in North Portland. For this, my friends and I sported some killer Christmas kitty shirts courtesy of Target (totally worth it even if my identity ends up stolen). Molly and I ran the 5K while our friend Nicole powered through the half. No PR for me, but a solid effort: 26:04.

Best Dressed (according to us)

Best Dressed (according to us)

A day later, it was time for another trot with Portland Running Company, this time to Peacock Lane. Peacock Lane is a cute Southeast Portland street where every house has been decorated with Christmas lights every year since the 20s. Nothing gaudy, either. Just charming, and a little quirky.

I even got a second go at Peacock Lane on Thursday night after my morning flight was canceled. Uh, thanks, American Airlines?

By Saturday morning, I had finally made it to Indianapolis and roped my brother and parents into trekking to the suburbs for the Carmel 5Ks of Christmas. Ethan and I raced in freezing rain and massive, unavoidable puddles, but I was able to eke out a 25:41. Nice to know I’m slowly getting my speed back after being sidelined in the fall. Once I do a little more speed work and race in better conditions, I’ll be looking to work my 24:27 PR down to sub-24.

untitled event - 4

More importantly, though, I was able to rock the Christmas kitty again:

IMG_0355

What holiday races were/are on your calendar this year?
Can anyone’s runwear top the Christmas kitty?

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About District Sweats

After a year of running in Portland, Ore., I'm back to my roots in Washington, D.C. Follow me here on the blog and on Instagram and Twitter. Got questions or sweat recommendations in D.C.? Hit me up: districtsweats@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers

